## COMMITMENT ASHRAE'S THEME FOR 1975

W. STEPHEN COMSTOCK
Affiliate Member ASHRAE

**O** VER 1200 members and guests attended the 1975 Annual Meeting held in the Sheraton-Boston Hotel, Boston, MA, June 22-26.

Keynoting the five-day session was President William J. Collins' call for "commitment." Asking each ASHRAE member to do all that he can to advance the name of the Society and the profession, Mr. Collins said that only by committing ourselves can we accomplish a job well done. Ingenuity, pride and hard work are the real answers to the problems of today's energy conscious world, he added, for not only do we have challenges; we also have opportunities.

Earlier addresses were made by Robert E. Shepherd, Acting Deputy Director, Bureau of Resources and Trade Assistance, United States Department of Commerce, who discussed the efficient use of energy and the role that government and private industry should play, and by immediate Past President David Rickelton. Mr. Rickelton reviewed his year as president, citing the development of STANDARD 90P, the implementation of ASHRAE-sponsored seminars, and the encouragement of international cooperation in HVAC&R.

Other meeting highlights included a technical program of five technical sessions, nine symposiums, ten seminars, and twelve forums; the installation of new officers and directors; and the presentation of honors and awards.

## NEW OFFICERS AND DIRECTORS

William J. Collins, Jr., president of Collins Engineering Associates, Oklahoma City, was installed as President. An ASHRAE Fellow, Mr. Collins served as a vice president of the Society from 1972-74 and 1963-64. He has had extensive experience serving on ASHRAE's executive and other policy-making committees and in 1965 received the Distinguished Service Award.

Also assuming office for 1975-76 were the following:

President-Elect — William P. Chapman, vice president, Johnson Controls, Inc., Milwaukee, WI

Vice President — Bruno Morabito, manager of product marketing, machinery and Systems Division, Carrier Corporation, Syracuse, NY

Vice President — Morris Backer, vice president, Bovay Engineers, Inc., Austin, TX -

Treasurer — Joseph B. Olivieri, president, OEM Associates, Inc., St. Clair Shores, MI

Director and Chairman of Region VII — David J. Levine, Carrier Distributing Co., New Orleans, LA

Director and Chairman of Region VIII — Emil E. Friberg, Love, Friberg Associates, Inc., Forth Worth, TX

Director and Chairman of Region IX — G. Bryan Drennan, Utah Power and Light Co., Salt Lake City, UT

Director and Chairman of Region X — Richard P. Perry, Perry Engineering, Ltd., Vancouver, BC, Canada

Director — Dr. Jack B. Chaddock, Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science, Duke University, Durham, NC

Director — Clinton W. Phillips, Environmental Engineering Section, National Bureau of Standards, Washington, DC

## **HONORS AND AWARDS**

Nine awards were presented to 35 individuals during the annual meeting: Lincoln Bouillon Membership Medal — Robert C. Mackay, sales representative, SA Armstrong, Ltd., Toronto, Ontario, Canada. This award was established in 1967 to commemorate the late Presidential Member Lincoln Bouillon's effort in recruiting new members and is presented annually to the individual who performs the most outstanding work in increasing the membership of the Society.

ASHAE-Homer Addams Award — Douglas C. Hamilton, Purdue University. Initiated in 1956 in honor of Presidential Member Homer Addams, the purpose of this award is to encourage graduate student work on ASHRAE research projects. Mr. Hamilton coauthored "Dynamic Response Characteristics of a Discharge Air Temperature Control System at Near Full and Part Healing Load" (ASHRAE TRANSACTIONS, Vol. 80, Part 1).

Distinguished Service Award - Eighteen men were selected to receive this award which is given to members who have given freely of their time and talent on behalf of the Society and have served faithfully and with distinction: John H. Clark, Life Member and retired from Union Carbide Corporation; Ralph Elsea, senior application engineer, Carrier Corporation, Syracuse, NY; Dixon A. Ervin, Jr., Ervin Engineers, Seattle, WA and ASHRAE Fellow; Robert J. Evans, assistant director of engineering, Air-Conditioning and Refrigeration Institute, Arlington, VA; David S. Falk, David S. Falk Company, Phoenix, AZ; Edmund W. Gifford, retired from Ed. Gifford & Company, Inc., Milwaukee, WI and Life Member; William R. Johnson, head of the Engineering Department of Federal Corporation of Oklahoma City, OK; Jacob Klassen, program manager, Central Utilities, the Canadian Federal Government; Don Massa, vice president of engineering, Copeland Corporation, Sidney, OH; Keith G. Massart, vice president, Massart Company, Seattle, WA; Bruno P. Morabito, Carrier Corporation, Syracuse, NY; Donald E. Nichols, president, I.C. Thomasson & Associates Consulting Engineers, Nashville, TN and ASHRAE Fellow; Alan W. Oakes, president, Oakes Mechanical Contractors, Ottawa Ontario, Canada; Joseph