Artificial intelligence (AI) policy: ASHRAE prohibits the entry of content from any ASHRAE publication or related ASHRAE intellectual property (IP) into any AI tool, including but not limited to ChatGPT. Additionally, creating derivative works of ASHRAE IP using AI is also prohibited without express written permission from ASHRAE.

logoShaping Tomorrow's Built Environment Today

ASHRAE Recognizes Outstanding HVAC&R Industry Achievements

LAS VEGAS – Thirty-six people were recognized by ASHRAE for their contributions to the Society and the building industry at the Society’s 2011 Winter Conference held here Jan. 29-Feb. 2.

The F. Paul Anderson Award, ASHRAE’s highest honor given for technical achievement, is awarded for notable achievement of outstanding services performed in the HVAC&R field. The recipient is Presidential Member Richard P. Perry, P. Eng, Fellow ASHRAE, Life Member, senior engineer, emeritus, DEC Design Mechanical Consultants, Ltd., New Westminster, British Columbia, Canada.

The 50-Year Member Award is given to persons who have been a member of the Society for 50 years and have performed outstanding service to ASHRAE or its predecessor societies. The recipient is Richard Wright, P.E., Fellow ASHRAE, Life Member, who resides in Algood, Tenn.

Fellow ASHRAE is a membership grade that recognizes distinction in the arts and sciences of environmental technology and is earned through achievement as a researcher, designer, educator or engineering executive. The Society elevated 13 members to the grade of Fellow ASHRAE:

  • Walid Chakroun, Ph.D., is professor, mechanical engineering department, Kuwait University, Safat, Kuwait
  • James Cummings is program director, Florida Solar Energy Center, Cocoa, Fla.
  • J. Eduardo Donoso is president, Ing. Eduardo Donoso E Hijos C. Ltd., Quayaquil, Guayas, Ecuador
  • Chad Dorgan, Ph.D., P.E., is vice president-quality and sustainability, McCarthy Building Companies, Inc., St. Louis, Mo.
  • Presidential Member Damon Gowan, Life Member, is retired president and chief executive officer, EMCOR-Gowan, Inc., Houston, Texas
  • Gershon Grossman, Sc. D., is professor of mechanical engineering, Technion-Israel Institute of Technology, Haifa, Israel
  • Jaap Hogeling is manager of international projects and standard of ISSO: Dutch Building Services Research Institute, Rotterdam, the Netherlands and managing director of KBI: Dutch Quality Assurance Institute for Building Services Rotterdam, the Netherlands
  • Russ Keeler, P.E., is principal, Chason Energy, Golden, Colo.
  • Ravindra Kulkarni Sr. is owner/proprietor, R. S. Kulkarni, HVACR Consultants, Pune, India
  • Cesar Luis Lim, P.M.E., is partner, business development officer, Kilojoule Consultants International Co., Paranaque, Philippines
  • Aphichit Lumlertpongpana, Ph.D., is managing director, I.T.C. Co., Ltd., Bangkok, Thailand
  • Hugh McMillan III is mechanical plumbing engineering coordinator, Becht Engineering Co., Inc., Cypress, Texas
  • Farooq Mehboob, Life Member is principal consultant of S. Mehboob & Company, Karachi, Pakistan

The ASHRAE Technology Awards recognize outstanding achievements by members who have successfully applied innovative building designs, which incorporate ASHRAE standards for effective energy management and indoor air quality.

Four projects received first-place ASHRAE Technology Awards:

  • Amit Khanna, ARUP, San Francisco, Calif. in the new institutional buildings category for the Jerry Yang and Akiko Yamazaki Environment and Energy Building, Stanford University, Palo Alto, Calif. The building owner is Stanford University
  • Gilles Desmaris, Dessau, Montreal, Quebec, Canada in the existing healthcare facilities category for the Pierre-Boucher Hospital, Longueuil, Quebec, Canada. The building is government owned and managed by CSSS Pierre-Boucher.
  • Yury Lui  and Chalres Eggert, HP Mission Critical Services, Chicago, Ill. in the new public assembly category for the Jewish Reconstructionist Congregation, Evanston, Ill. The building is owned by the Congregation.
  • Peter H. Rumsey, P.E., Fellow ASHRAE, Integral Group, Oakland, Calif. in the new commercial buildings category for the David Brower Center, Berkeley, Calif. The project was developed by Equity Community Builders.

The ASHRAE Student Design Project Competition challenged teams of students to create an integrated sustainable building design as well as select and design HVAC&R systems for the Ginsburg Tower, a 15-story patient tower, at Florida Hospital in Orlando, Fla.  First place in HVAC System Design is awarded to Michael Angell, Nathaniel Boyd, Edward Gillett, Trong Nguyen and Justin Wiese of University of Central Florida, Orlando, Fla. First place in HVAC System Selection is awarded to Zac Buckmiller, Matt Kolins, Todd Kuno, Jared Palan, Nicole Vogt and Joel Wheeler of Kansas State University, Manhattan, Kan. First place in the Integrated Sustainable Building Design is awarded to Carolyn Lamb, Ryland Phelps and Amy Rose Keyzer of Lawrence Technological University, Southfield, Mich.

The John F. James International Award is given to an ASHRAE member who has done the most to enhance the Society’s international presence. The recipient is Yuan-Wei Wu, chief engineer, Chinese Association of Refrigeration, Beijing, China. 

The E.K. Campbell Award honors outstanding achievements by engineering educators is presented by the ASHRAE Life Members Club. The recipient is William Ryan, Ph.D., P.E., director of the Masters of Energy Engineering Program in the Mechanical and Industrial Engineering Department at the University of Illinois at Chicago (UIC).

ASHRAE, founded in 1894, is an international organization of 50,000 persons. Its sole objective is to advance through research, standards writing, publishing and continuing education the arts and sciences of heating, ventilation, air conditioning and refrigeration to serve the evolving needs of the public.


Editors Note: Individual releases and photographs for each award recipient are available upon request.