Artificial intelligence (AI) policy: ASHRAE prohibits the entry of content from any ASHRAE publication or related ASHRAE intellectual property (IP) into any AI tool, including but not limited to ChatGPT. Additionally, creating derivative works of ASHRAE IP using AI is also prohibited without express written permission from ASHRAE.

logoShaping Tomorrow's Built Environment Today

Obituaries, June 2020

Obituaries, June 2020

James O. Bendall
84; Life Member ASHRAE; Hoover, Ala.; joined ASHRAE in 1979.

Geoffrey W. Brundrett, Ph.D.
86; Fellow/Life Member ASHRAE; Frodsham, United Kingdom; joined ASHRAE in 1987. Brundrett served as president of CIBSE and chaired and was a member of ASHRAE/CIBSE Committee. He received the ASHRAE Fellow Award in 1997.

Charles W. Coward, P.E.
85; Fellow/Life Member; Moorestown, N.J.; joined ASHRAE in 1979. He served as a:

  • Member of TC 1.4, Control Theory and Application.

  • Chair, vice chair, Research Administration Committee liaison for TC 5.1, Fans.

  • Member of TC 9.1, Large Building Air-Conditioning Systems.

  • Standards liaison and RAC research liaison for several technical committees.

  • Member of Standard Project Committee 51 (AMCA 210), Laboratory Methods of Testing Fans for Certified Aerodynamic Performance Rating.

  • Member of the Society’s Research Promotion committee.

He was awarded the Fellow Award in 1995 and the Distinguished Service Award in 2015.

Dag R. Horne
76; Life Member ASHRAE; Nesbru, Norway; joined ASHRAE in 1975.

Yie-Zu R Hu, Ph.D.
62; Fellow ASHRAE; Chutung, Hsinchu, Taiwan; joined ASHRAE in 1992. He served as: 

  • Region XIII’s Director and Regional Chair on the Society’s Board of Directors.

  • Region XIII’s Director and Regional Chair on Members Council.

  • Region XIII’s Regional Vice Chair on the Membership Promotion Committee.

  • Member of the Society’s Environmental Health Committee.

  • Director and Regional Chair, assistant regional chair, CRC general chair and membership promotion for Region XIII.

  • President, vice president, treasurer, secretary historial, delegate, chapter programs and Board of Governors for the ASHRAE Taiwan Chapter. 

He was awarded the:

  • Distinguished Service Award in 2011.

  • Regional Award of Merit in 2010.

  • Regional Award of Merit in 2007.

  • Fellow Award in 2004.

Emmette G. Jackson, Jr., P.E.
89; Life Member ASHRAE; Hingham, Mass.; joined ASHRAE in 1969.

Gary E. Johnson, P.E.
83; Fellow/Life Member ASHRAE; Sykesville, Md.; joined ASHRAE in 1963. He served as a regional member and regional alternate on the Society’s Nominating Committee. He was awarded the Regional Award of Merit in 1987 and the Distinguished 50-Year Member Award in 2014.

Robert Jorgensen, P.E.
93; Fellow/Life Member ASHRAE; Midlothian, Va.; joined ASHRAE in 1953.He served as chair of Standard Project Committee 51 (AMCA 210), Laboratory Methods of Testing Fans for Certified Aerodynamic Performance Rating. He was awarded the Distinguished 50-Year Member Award in 2003.

Frank P. La Franco, Jr.
87; Life Member ASHRAE; Yonkers, N.Y.; joined ASHRAE in 1985.

Charles A. Lester
89; Life Member ASHRAE; Saint Charles, Mo.; joined ASHRAE in 1969.

Henderson H. Rogers
93: Life Member ASHRAE; Houston, Texas; joined ASHRAE in 1968.

Edward Saltzberg, P.E.
87; Life Member ASHRAE; Los Angeles, Calif.; joined ASHRAE in 1970.

Agop Turkmen
85; Life Member ASHRAE; LaSalle, Quebec, Canada; joined ASHRAE in 1975.