Artificial intelligence (AI) policy: ASHRAE prohibits the entry of content from any ASHRAE publication or related ASHRAE intellectual property (IP) into any AI tool, including but not limited to ChatGPT. Additionally, creating derivative works of ASHRAE IP using AI is also prohibited without express written permission from ASHRAE.

logoShaping Tomorrow's Built Environment Today

Former ASHRAE President Gets His Own Day

Former ASHRAE President Gets His Own Day

From eSociety, June 2019

May 18 was “George A. Jackins, P.E., Appreciation Day” in Region VII.

A group of former ASHRAE Region VII directors including 2002-03 ASHRAE President Don Colliver, Ph.D., Presidential/Fellow/Life Member ASHRAE, traveled to Hoover, Ala., to deliver the proclamation to its namesake, 1998-99 ASHRAE President George Jackins, P.E., Presidential/Fellow/Life Member ASHRAE.

Left to Right, Kay Thrasher, Member ASHRAE; Jeff Gatlin, P.E., Member ASHRAE;
Mike Bilderbeck, P.E., Fellow ASHRAE; Presidential Member George Jackins;
Presidential Member Don Colliver, Donna Leigh Jackins, Larry Fisher, Life Member ASHRAE,
celebrate the proclamation.

George has mentored decades of ASHRAE Region VII and Society leaders. For 20 years, George and his wife Donna Leigh offered their lake house on Lake Mitchell in Clanton, Ala., to host the Region VII Planning Meeting weekends. Region VII was the first region to conduct a formal regional planning meeting, which is now standard practice in all ASHRAE regions.

The Jackins are no longer able to be active participants in ASHRAE events, but their hospitality and leadership continue to shape the future of Region VII and of ASHRAE.

Jackins has served ASHRAE in various leadership roles, including as a chair of the Publishing and Education Council, Research Journal Policy Group and Technology Council; a chair, vice chair and member of the Honors and Awards Committee and a chair and vice chair for the Nominating Committee.

He has won several awards, including the Distinguished 50-Year Member Award in 2009; Regional Award of Merit in 1982; Distinguished Service Award in 1989; Exceptional Service Award in 2001 and the Andrew T. Boggs Service Award in 2003.