Artificial intelligence (AI) policy: ASHRAE prohibits the entry of content from any ASHRAE publication or related ASHRAE intellectual property (IP) into any AI tool, including but not limited to ChatGPT. Additionally, creating derivative works of ASHRAE IP using AI is also prohibited without express written permission from ASHRAE.

logoShaping Tomorrow's Built Environment Today

Obituaries, January 2020

Obituaries, January 2020

Dan Avnon
86; Member ASHRAE; Givat Savyon, Israel; joined ASHRAE in 1989.

Robert E. Dollard
76; Life Member ASHRAE; Quebec, Canada; joined ASHRAE in 1988. He served in multiple roles including treasurer for Region II and as president, president-elect, secretary, treasurer, membership promotion chair, delegate and alternate for the ASHRAE Quebec Chapter. 

He won the Regional Award of Merit in 2008, the Certificate of Appreciation for Research Promotion in 1995-96 and President Award of Excellence with Special Citation in 1994-95.

Jim L. Heldenbrand
89, Life Member ASHRAE, joined ASHRAE in September 1971. While Heldenbrand was working for the National Bureau of Standards (NBS) in the mid-1970s, he was the project manager of a task group for the development of an energy document that NBS recommended be used as a basis to develop a national voluntary consensus standard. ASHRAE Standard 90-75 was the resulting standard. Heldenbrand became Manager of Standards for ASHRAE in 1987, a position he held until 1998. He received the Standards Achievement Award in 1998.

Bertram Y. Kinzey, Jr., P.E.
98; Life Member ASHRAE; Blacksburg, Va.; joined ASHRAE in 1973.

Byron D. Koch
68; Member ASHRAE; Carmel, Ind.; joined ASHRAE in 1998.

Walter W. Law, Jr., P.E.
62; Member ASHRAE; Knoxville, Tenn.; joined ASHRAE in 1985. He served as chair, vice-chair, consultant and Region VII Regional Vice Chair on the Research Promotion Committee. He served as Region VII’s Assistant Regional Chair and CRC General Chair. He served on the:

  • Nominating Committee

  • Foundation Trustees 

  • Members Council

  • Training and Education Committee

Law also served the ASHRAE East Tennessee Chapter as:

  • A member of the Board of Governors

  • Research promotion chair

  • Delegate

  • President

  • Alternate

  • President-elect

  • Treasurer

  • Membership promotion chair

  • A member of the Technology, Energy and Government Activities Committee

He won the Distinguished Service Award in 2019, the Regional Award of Merit in 2008 and the Chapter Service Award in 2004.

Emmanuel Olusesan Olabiran
Associate Member ASHRAE; Lagos, Nigeria; joined ASHRAE in 2009. He served on the ASHRAE Nigeria Chapter’s Board of Governors and Refrigeration Committee.

Henry W. Prole
97; Life Member ASHRAE; Wisbech, United Kingdom; joined in 1955.

Azarias Servant
91; Life Member ASHRAE; Quebec, Canada; joined in 1956. He served as the Region II Vice-Chair of the Energy and Technical Affairs Committee and a member of TC 6.9, Energy Storage. He served the ASHRAE Quebec Chapter as treasurer, secretary, vice-president and president. He won the Regional Award of Merit in 1988 and 1990.