Artificial intelligence (AI) policy: ASHRAE prohibits the entry of content from any ASHRAE publication or related ASHRAE intellectual property (IP) into any AI tool, including but not limited to ChatGPT. Additionally, creating derivative works of ASHRAE IP using AI is also prohibited without express written permission from ASHRAE.

logoShaping Tomorrow's Built Environment Today

ASHRAE Installs New Officers, Directors

  • 29 Jun 2015
  • Atlanta

ASHRAE Installs New Officers, Directors

Media Contact:
Allen Haynes

ATLANTA – ASHRAE has installed new officers and directors for 2015-16 at its Annual Meeting held here June 27-July 1.

The new president is T. David Underwood, P.Eng., Fellow ASHRAE, Life Member, CPMP, Oakville, Ontario, Canada. His theme, Making Connections, focuses on the first goal in ASHRAE’s Strategic Plan, which calls for connecting as a way to foster vibrant, informed and engaged ASHRAE and industry communities. The theme focuses not only on the connections of ASHRAE membership but extends to connecting with industry, communities, governments and globally.

Other officers installed for a one-year term are:

  • President-Elect: Timothy G. Wentz, P.E., Fellow ASHRAE, HBDP, associate professor, University of Nebraska – Lincoln
  • Treasurer: Bjarne W. Olesen, Ph.D., Fellow ASHRAE, Life Member, professor, Technical University of Denmark, Kongens Lyngby, Denmark
  • Vice President: Walid Chakroun, Ph.D., Fellow ASHRAE, professor, Mechanical Engineering Department, College of Engineering and Petroleum, and assistant vice president, Academic Affairs, Kuwait University, Safat.
  • Vice President: Patricia Graef, P.E., Fellow ASHRAE, director, evaporative media core technology, research and development, Munters Corp., Fort Myers, Fla.
  • Vice President: Charles “Chuck” E. Gulledge III, P.E., HBDP, senior mechanical engineer, AC Corp., Greensboro, N.C.
  • Vice President: James K. Vallort, Fellow ASHRAE, senior vice president, Environmental Systems Design, Chicago, Ill.
    ASHRAE installed the following directors to serve a three-year term from 2015-2018:
  • Region I Director and Region Chair: William “Bill” F. Walter, Fellow, UTC Building and Industrial System, Syracuse, N.Y.
  • Region II Director and Region Chair: Douglas C. Cochrane, P.Eng., engineering sales manager, Carrier Enterprise Canada, Mississauga, Ontario.
  • Region III Director and Region Chair: Roger K. Jones, P.E., account executive, Honeywell International, Herndon, Va.
  • Region XI Director and Region Chair: Keith A. Yelton, Life Member, owner, ACI Mechanical and HVAC Sales, Portland, Org.
  • Director-at-Large: Erich Binder, president, Erich Binder Consulting, Calgary, Alberta
  • Director-at-Large: William “Bill” F. McQuade, P.E., Fellow ASHRAE, director of technology, energy efficiency and the environment, chiller solutions, building efficiency, Johnson Controls, York, Pa.
  • Director-at-Large: Dennis Knight, P.E, Fellow ASHRAE, BEMP, owner, Whole Building Systems, Mt. Pleasant, S.C.

ASHRAE, founded in 1894, is a global society advancing human well-being through sustainable technology for the built environment. The Society and its more than 50,000 members worldwide focus on building systems, energy efficiency, indoor air quality, refrigeration and sustainability. Through research, standards writing, publishing, certification and continuing education, ASHRAE shapes tomorrow’s built environment today. More information can be found at