Celebrating 125 Years

University Specific Scholarships

Share This

3 University Scholarships – $3,000 - $5,000

Annual Application Deadline: December 1
Scholarships are awarded for the academic year following the application deadline beginning with the fall semester.  Re-applications accepted from former scholarship applicants and recipients who meet current criteria


Scholarships are available to full-time undergraduate engineering or pre-engineering students enrolled in a specific post-secondary educational institution and pursuing a Bachelor of Science or Engineering degree in a course of study that has traditionally been a preparatory curriculum for the HVAC&R profession.  Applicants must have a cumulative Grade Point Average (GPA) of at least 3.0 on a scale where 4.0 is the highest and/or a class standing of no less than the top 30%. 

ASHRAE David C. J. Peters Scholarship - $5,000

A one-year scholarship available annually to a qualified undergraduate mechanical or architectural engineering student enrolled full-time in a four or five year bachelor degree program at one of the institutions listed below.  The scholarship was created by Southland Industries in honor of David Peters, a tireless advocate of recruiting quality and an ASHRAE member.

  • Arizona State University
  • Cal Poly San Luis Obispo
  • California State University (CSU) at
    • Chico
    • San Diego
    • Cal Maritime
    • Long Beach
  • Milwaukee School of Engineering
  • North Carolina A&T State University
  • North Carolina State University
  • Oklahoma State University
  • Oregon State University
  • Pennsylvania State University
  • Portland State University
  • San Jose State University
  • University of Nebraska at
    • Lincoln
    • Omaha
  • University of Nevada at
    • Las Vegas
    • Reno
  • University of Portland
  • University of Texas at Austin
  • Virginia Tech

ASHRAE Donald E. Nichols Scholarship - $3,000

A one-year scholarship available annually to a qualified undergraduate engineering student enrolled full-time at Tennessee Technological University.  This scholarship is named for a former ASHRAE vice president and graduate of Tennessee Technological University. 

ASHRAE J. Richard Mehalick Scholarship - $3,000

A one-year scholarship available annually to a qualified undergraduate mechanical engineering student enrolled full-time at the University of Pittsburgh.  This scholarship is named in memory of an ASHRAE member who oversaw development of the air conditioning equipment used in commercial, military, aerospace & transportation applications during his lifetime and was a graduate of the University of Pittsburgh. 

Instructions and Application

The following documents must be submitted on or before the application deadline to receive consideration.

  1. Official transcript of grades (college freshmen whose grades are not available by the application deadline must submit an official transcript of high school grades and verification of enrollment in a post-secondary educational institution).  Transcript must be mailed in a separately sealed envelope.  Photocopies will not be accepted.
  2. Three signed letters of recommendation as follows: one from an instructor or faculty advisor, one from a current or past employer, and one from another character reference (other than a family member).  In the case of institutions with an ASHRAE student branch, a letter from the faculty advisor of that branch may be one of the three letters of recommendation.