logoShaping Tomorrow's Built Environment Today

Technology Awards Program

Share This

2023 Technology Award Presentations

Lianne Cockerton and Martin Roy with the 2023 Award of Engineering Excellence and First Place Technology Award


The ASHRAE Technology Awards recognize outstanding achievements by members who have successfully applied innovative building design in the areas of occupant comfort, indoor air quality and energy conservation. Their designs incorporate ASHRAE standards for effective energy management and IAQ. Performance is proven through one year’s actual, verifiable operating data.

2023 First Place Winners


Simon Kattoura

IV: Industrial Facilities or Processes (Existing)

Hood Packaging Corporation

Yvon Bolduc, Owner Representative

Region II, Montreal Chapter



Drew Roberts and Benjamin Hobbs

II: Educational Facilities (New)

BCPS Holabird and Graceland Schools

Maurice A. Gaskins, Owner Representative

Region III, Richmond Chapter



Nobuhiro Hirasuga, Shun Kato, Takashi Akimoto, and Yu Sakamoto

I: Commercial Buildings (New)

Shinryo Shinjo Building

Takeshi Kagami, Owner Representative

Region XIII, Japan Chapter



Tyler Larkin, Tracy Steward, and Thomas Anderson

I: Commercial Buildings (Existing)

Ingalls Building

Zachary Quill, Owner Representative

Region V, Louisville Chapter



Adrianne Mitani

VI: Residential

70 Gloucester

Shawn Malhotra, Owner Representative

Region II, Ottawa Valley Chapter



Bryan Harrelson, Tracy Steward, Dennis Finn, and Brian Turner

V: Public Assembly (New)

Lubber Run Community Center

Michael Manos, Owner Representative

Region III, National Capital Chapter



Raymond Man-Hung Yau and Kwai Ping Lau

I: Commercial Buildings (EBCx)

Retro-Commissioning and Digital Transformation of Cityplaza Mall

Kwai Ping Lau, Owner Representative

Region XIII, Hong Kong Chapter



John Andary

III: Health Care Facilities (New)

Santa Rosa Medical Office Building 6

Travis English, Owner Representative

Region X, Golden Gate Chapter


Purpose of ASHRAE Technology Awards

The purpose of the ASHRAE Technology Awards program is to:

  • Recognize ASHRAE members who design and/or conceive innovative technological concepts that are proven through actual operating data;..
  • Communicate innovative systems designs to other ASHRAE members;
  • Highlight technological achievements of ASHRAE to others, including associated professionals and societies worldwide, as well as building and facility owners...

Each year the Society may present awards in six categories: Commercial Buildings (New, Existing, Existing Building Commissioning); Institutional Buildings (New, Existing, Existing Building Commissioning) Health Care Facilities (New, Existing, Existing Building Commissioning); Industrial Facilities or Processes (New, Existing, Existing Building Commissioning); Public Assembly (New, Existing, Existing Building Commissioning); Residential

For each category first, second, and honorable mention winners may be named. Also, one of the category first place winners may be selected to receive the ASHRAE Award of Engineering Excellence. The recipient will have demonstrated the best overall compliance with the judging criteria...

pdf_icon.png Benefits of Winning a Technology Award


Technology Award Application (Updated April 2023)

Sample Entries