Artificial intelligence (AI) policy: ASHRAE prohibits the entry of content from any ASHRAE publication or related ASHRAE intellectual property (IP) into any AI tool, including but not limited to ChatGPT. Additionally, creating derivative works of ASHRAE IP using AI is also prohibited without express written permission from ASHRAE.

logoShaping Tomorrow's Built Environment Today

Members Spotlight—November 2017

Members Spotlight—November 2017

From eSociety, November 2017

Members Spotlight

Southern Alberta Chapter Celebrates60th Anniversary

Southern Alberta Chapter 

Two charter members and 23 former chapter presidents of the ASHRAE Southern Alberta Chapter attended the chapter’s 60th anniversary on Oct. 19. The charter members—Bud Watson, Life Member ASHRAE, and Lloyd Conn, Life Member ASHRAE—were part of the initial group of 50 members who officially formed the chapter in 1958. The Southern Alberta Chapter of ASHRAE has grown from 50 chapter members in 1958 to 420 members in 2017. Society Past President Tim Wentz, P.E., HBDP, Presidential Fellow Member, and Region XIRegional Members Council Representative Russell Lavittwere special guests at the 60th Anniversary celebration.

Pictured: Front Row – Sid Wealleans, Jerry Radu, Ron Brookes, Wayne Keenan, Bob Junker, Bill Holmes, Harry Andersen, Bernie Skalozub 2nd Row – John Wiebe, Trent Theaker, Joe Spivak, Lloyd Conn, Scott McGregor, Roy Best, Bud Watson, Don Blacklock 3rd Row – Erich Binder, Tim McGinn, Geoff Howard, Dan Richer Back Row – Phil Larkin, Roy Pyper, Dave Michie, Peter Litwinow, Bob Lounsberry

ASHRAE Fellow/Life Member Receives International Honor

Energy and Buildings Award 

After serving as the editor of Energy and Buildings for nearly 30 years, Branislav Todorovic, Ph.D., Fellow/Life Member ASHRAE, has been named the honorary editor in chief of the journal that features building energy use and efficiency. Todorovic, a professor at the University of Belgrade in Serbia, received the honor in October during an international symposium in China celebrating the journal’s 40th anniversary and Todorovic’s 30 years as the journal’s editor. Todorovic has been active in ASHRAE by serving on various committees including the position document and publication committees. He was awarded the ASHRAE Symposium Paper in 1988, the John F. James International Award in 1992, the Distinguished Service Award in 1995 and the E.K. Campbell Award of Merit in 2001.
ASHRAE Fellow Wins ASME Heat Transfer Memorial Award

ASME Heat Transfer Memorial Award 

ASHRAE Fellow Zahid Ayub, Ph.D., P.E., left, received theASME Heat Transfer Memorial Award on Nov. 7 at the IMECE-2017 conference in Tampa, Fla. The Heat Transfer Memorial Award is awarded to those who have made outstanding contributions to the field of heat transfer through teaching, research, practiceand design or a combination of such activities, according to ASME. Each award is based on achievement through publications, patents or inventions, in an area of heat transfer or through the application of science or art of heat transfer. Ayub has been an ASHRAE member since 1987 and serves on TC 1.3, Heat Transfer and Fluid Flow; TC 8.5, Liquid-To-Refrigerant Heat Exchangers; and SPC24-2013R, Methods of Testing for Rating Evaporators Used for Cooling Liquids.