Artificial intelligence (AI) policy: ASHRAE prohibits the entry of content from any ASHRAE publication or related ASHRAE intellectual property (IP) into any AI tool, including but not limited to ChatGPT. Additionally, creating derivative works of ASHRAE IP using AI is also prohibited without express written permission from ASHRAE.

logoShaping Tomorrow's Built Environment Today

Obituaries, August 2019

Obituaries, August 2019

Paul C. Barringer
94; Life Member ASHRAE; Golden, Colo.; joined ASHRAE in 1966.

Harry A. Dawson
Life Member ASHRAE; New Orleans, La.; joined in 1944. He received the 50-Year Member Award in 1994.

William W. Fearon, P.E.
83; Life Member ASHRAE; Miramar Beach, Fla.; joined ASHRAE in 1967. He served as a member and a research subcommittee chair for TC 2.7, Seismic, Wind and Flood Resistant Design,  and as a member of TC 2.6, Sound and Vibration. 

James R. Harnish, P.E.
91; Life Member ASHRAE; joined in 1958.

Ronald H. Kuhlman, P.E.
84; Life Member ASHRAE; Menomonee Fls, Wis.; joined ASHRAE in 1965.

James P. Laughlin, P.E.
95; Life Member ASHRAE; Evansville, Ind.; joined ASHRAE in 1960.

Karl W. Lawson, P.E.
92; Life Member ASHRAE; Lakewood, Colo.; joined ASHRAE in 1964.

Reynato L. Legaspi
74; Life Member ASHRAE; Fairfax, Va.; joined ASHRAE in 1980.

H. Glenn Logsdon, P.E.
89; Life Member ASHRAE; Houston, Texas; joined ASHRAE in 1960.

William B. Marshburn, P.E.
58; Member ASHRAE; Madison, Ala.; joined ASHRAE in 2007. He served as the president, president-elect, vice president, treasurer, delegate, alternate, chapter technology transfer chair and chapter programs chair for the ASHRAE North Alabama Chapter. 

Juan Morell
84; Life Member ASHRAE; Barcelona, Spain; joined ASHRAE in 1966.

Markku J. J. Rantama
73; Life Member ASHRAE; Espoo, Finland; joined ASHRAE in 1983.

Steven C. Severini, P.E.
55; Member ASHRAE; Atlanta, Ga.; joined ASHRAE in 1985. He served as secretary and a member of TC 6.2, District Energy.

Edward P. Weatherby, Jr.
107; Life Member ASHRAE; Rowlett, Texas; joined in 1935. He received the 50-Year Member Award in 1985.

James E. Woods, Ph.D., P.E.
79; Fellow/Life Member ASHRAE; Waynesboro, Va.; joined ASHRAE in 1963. He served as a:

  • Board-elected alternate for the Nominating Committee

  • Chair, research subcommittee chair and member of the Environmental Health Committee

  • Member of the Standards Committee

  • Board of Directors Ex-Officio of the Chapter Programs Committee

  • Director-at-Large and member of the Board of Directors

  • Member of the President-Elect Advisory Committee 

  • Member of the Presidential Ad Hoc Homeland Security Committee

  • Member of the Foundation Trustees

  • Chair of the 2002-2003 Presidential Ad Hoc Committee for Building Health and Safety Under Extraordinary Incidents

  • Chair of the 2001-2002 Presidential Study Group on Health and Safety Under Extraordinary Incidents

  • Member of the 2000-2001 Health Impacts Implementation Ad Hoc Committee

  • Member of the Technology Council 

  • Member of the ASHRAE Learning Institute Board of Trustees

  • Member of the Publication and education Council

  • Member of the IAQ '97 Steering Committee

  • Member of the IAQ '93 Steering Committee

  • Member of the IAQ '91 Steering Committee

  • The ASHRAE Representative to US Green Building Council

  • Member of TG9 (TC 9.5) Residential and Small Building Applications

  • Presidential Representative of the Steering Committee of The Infrastructure Security Partnership

  • Chair of the Presidential Study Group and Ad Hoc Committee on Building Health and Safety Under Extraordinary Incidents

  • Member of TG1.GLE (TC 1.7) General Legal Education

  • Member of the Continuing Education Committee

  • Member of GPC 10, Indoor Environmental Quality

  • Chair of the Presidential Ad Hoc Committee on Proposed Scope of Indoor Air Quality Activities

  • Member of SPC 129P, Ventilation Effectiveness

  • Member of TC 2.3, Gaseous Air Contaminants and Gas Contaminant Removal

  • Chair of Presidential Ad Hoc Committee on Legionnaire's Disease

  • Chair of  SPC 62, Ventilation Requirements for Acceptable Indoor Air Quality

  • Program subcommittee chair and member of TC 4.3, Ventilation Requirements and Infiltration

  • Chair, vice chair and member of the Program Committee

  • Chair and member of TC 2.1, Physiology and Human Environment

  • Member of TC 5.4, Industrial Air Cleaning

  • Chair and member of TC 9.2, Industrial Air Conditioning

  • Member of the Standards Reaffirmation Subcommittee

  • Member of GPC 29-2009, Guideline for the Risk Management of Public Health and Safety in Buildings

  • Member of GPC 10P(x), Interactions Affecting the Achievement of Acceptable Indoor Environments

  • Member of SSPC 55, Thermal Environmental Conditions for Human Occupancy

  • Chair and member of TRG7.UFAD (underfloor air distribution systems)

He won the following awards from ASHRAE:

  • Distinguished 50-Year Member Award in 2013

  • The Distinguished Service Award in 1988

  • Ralph G. Nevins Award in 1988

  • Fellow Award in 1992

  • Presidential Citation of Honor in 1982

  • Best Paper and Best Paper of the Decade in 1981 and 1987

James W. Young
94; Life Member ASHRAE; Bellwood, Ill.; joined in 1946. He received the 50-Year Member Award in 1996.

Dave Zorr
60; Student Member ASHRAE; Tucson, Ariz; joined ASHRAE in 2017.