logoShaping Tomorrow's Built Environment Today

Obituaries, August 2021

Obituaries, August 2021

From Insights, August 2021

Marcel A. Bally
81; Life Member ASHRAE; East Hampton, N.Y.; joined ASHRAE in 1988.

Joseph T. Brouwers
85; Life Member ASHRAE; Kl Maastricht, Netherlands; joined ASHRAE in 1974.

Donald V. Brown
87; Life Member ASHRAE; Tonawanda, N.Y.; joined in 1959. He served as president of the Niagara Frontier chapter.

Anthony V. Digiacomo, P.E.
91; Life Member ASHRAE; Quincy, Mass.; joined in 1957.

Mulraj P. Dhokai, P.E.
81; Life Member ASHRAE; Annandale, Va.; joined ASHRAE in 1970.

Sally L. Ehrmann, P.E.
90; Life Member ASHRAE; West Hills, Calif.; joined ASHRAE in 1961.

Oscar M. Hagen
95; Life Member ASHRAE; Onalaska, Wis.; joined ASHRAE in 1971. He was a member of TC 1.2, Instruments and Measurements.

Odean H. Jukam
83; Life Member ASHRAE; Waukee, Iowa; joined ASHRAE in 1968.

Robert R. Lam
87; Life Member ASHRAE; Leawood, Kan.; joined ASHRAE in 1961.

Carl N. Lawson
82; Fellow Life Member ASHRAE; Zephyrhills, Fla; joined ASHRAE in 1977.

He served in the following positions:
• Region XII Regional Vice Chair of the Research Promotion Committee
• Board-Elected Alternate of the Nominating Committee
• Member of the 2007 ASHRAE Handbook Committee
• Member of the Special Publications Committee
• Chair of the Minimizing Indoor Mold Problems Through Management of Moisture in Building Systems Position Document Committee
• Member of the 2003–2004 IAQ Conference Ad Hoc Steering Committee
• Member of the Publishing and Education Council
• President of the Florida West Coast (1988–1989)
• Member of the Program Committee
• Member of TG1.GLE, General Legal Education
• Member of TG7.PHVAC, Publications
• Member of TG9.TB, Tall Buildings
• Chair of TG9MMB, Moisture Management in Buildings
• Chair of TC 1.12, Mold and Mildew
• Member of TC 5.2, Duct Design
• Member of TC 5.5, Air-to-Air Energy Recovery
• Chair of TC 7.7, Testing and Balancing
• Chair of TC 7.9, Building Commissioning
• Chair of TC 9.1, Large Building Air-Conditioning Systems
• Chair of TC 9.6, Healthcare Facilities
• Chair of TC 9.7_P, Educational Facilities
• Chair, ALI Coordinator and Secretary of TC 9.8, Large Building Air-Conditioning Applications
• Commissioning Subcommittee Chair of TC 9.9_P, Mission Critical Facilities, Data Centers, Technology Spaces and Electronic Equipment
• Member of TC 9.10, Laboratory Systems
• Chair of ASHRAE Journal (1998)
• Member of the Standards Project Liaison Subcommittee (SPLS) – ASHRAE Standards Committee
• Project Committee Voting Member (PCVM) of SPC 74-1988R, Method of Measuring Solar-Optical Properties of Materials
• PCVM of SPC 111-1988R, Measurement, Testing, Adjusting and Balancing of Building Heating, Ventilation and Air-Conditioning Systems
• PCVM of SPC 149P (standard test method for smoke control fans)
• PCVM of SSPC 52.2, Method of Testing General Ventilation Air Cleaning Devices for Removal Efficiency by Particle Size
• PCVM of SSPC 180(X), Standard Practice for Inspection and Maintenance of Commercial-Building HVAC Systems
• PCVM of SSPC 189.1, Standard for the Design of High-Performance Green Buildings Except Low-Rise Residential Buildings
• Vice-Chair and PCVM of GPC 0(W) (commissioning)
• Vice-Chair and PCVM of GPC 1-1996R, Commissioning Guideline Committee
• Producer of GPC 4-1993R(X), Preparation of Operating and Maintenance Documentation for Building Systems
• Chair and PCVM of GPC 11-2009(X), Field Testing for HVAC Control Components

He earned the following awards:
• Exceptional Service Award in 2012
• Fellow Award in 2009
• Distinguished Service Award in 1993
• Regional Award of Merit in 1988

Murton K. McGirr
80; Associate Member ASHRAE; Aiea, Hawaii; joined ASHRAE in 2010.

Hiroo Muneoka
101; Life Member ASHRAE; Chuo-Ku, Japan; joined ASHRAE in 1966.

Rodney Oathout, P.E.
54; Member ASHRAE; Parkville, Mo.; joined ASHRAE in 1997.

Theodore R. Popov, P.E.
82; Life Member ASHRAE; Ewa Beach, Hawaii; joined ASHRAE in 1969.

George W. Theisen
96; Life Member ASHRAE; Greensboro, N.C.; joined ASHRAE in 1966.

Nicholas Tselios, Eng.
50; Member ASHRAE; Surry Hills, Australia; joined ASHRAE in 2018.