logoShaping Tomorrow's Built Environment Today

Obituaries, March 2019

Obituaries, March 2019

Patrick Garneau
82; Life Member ASHRAE; Beloeil, Quebec, Canada; joined ASHRAE in 1971.

Albert N. Janco, P.E.
92; Life Member ASHRAE; Oklahoma City, Okla.; joined ASHRAE in 1963.

Mark R. Johnson, P.E.
48; Member ASHRAE; Lakewood, Colo.; joined ASHRAE in 2010.

Akio Miyasaka
82; Life Member ASHRAE; Tokyo, Japan; joined ASHRAE in 1974.

Michael J. Sconsoni, P.E.
68; Life Member ASHRAE; Stoneham, Mass.; joined ASHRAE in 1978. He served as the newsletter editor for the ASHRAE Boston Chapter.

Harold O. Triebe
86; Life Member ASHRAE, Des Plaines, Ill; joined ASHRAE in 1960.

Joel V. Trudeau
77; Life Member ASHRAE; Stirling, Ontario, Canada; joined ASHRAE in 1979.

George S. Yamamoto
89; Fellow/Life Member ASHRAE; Cortland, N.Y.; joined ASHRAE in 1966. He served as a member of the Technology Council and the Presidential Ad Hoc Committee on International Standards.

He also served as:

  • A member and chair of ISO/TC 86, Refrigeration and Air-Conditioning, Panel 6, Testing and Rating of Air-Conditioners and Heat Pumps;

  • A member of ISO/TC 86, Refrigeration and Air-Conditioning, Panel 4, Testing and Rating of Refrigerant Compressors;

  • A member of the International Standards Advisory Subcommittee;

  • A secretary, project committee voting member and user of SSPC 41, Standard Methods for Measurement;

  • A standards subcommittee chair and member for TC 1.2, Instruments & Measurements; and

  • A standards subcommittee chair and member for TC 7.6 P, Building Energy Performance.

He was awarded the:

  • Distinguished Service Award in 1988;

  • Standards Achievement Award in 1997;

  • Fellow Award in 1999; and

  • Distinguished 50-Year Member Award in 2018.