Artificial intelligence (AI) policy: ASHRAE prohibits the entry of content from any ASHRAE publication or related ASHRAE intellectual property (IP) into any AI tool, including but not limited to ChatGPT. Additionally, creating derivative works of ASHRAE IP using AI is also prohibited without express written permission from ASHRAE.

logoShaping Tomorrow's Built Environment Today

Obituaries, March 2023

Obituaries, March 2023

From Insights, March 2023


Charles F. Bremigan, Jr., P.E.

94; Life Member ASHRAE; Oshkosh, Wis.; joined ASHRAE in 1982.


Jose E. Diaz, P.E.

79; Life Member ASHRAE; Naples, Fla.; joined ASHRAE in 1980.


Philip A. Dugan

88; Life Member ASHRAE; South St. Paul, Minn.; joined ASHRAE in 1962. He earned the Distinguished 50-Year Member Award in 2012 and the Distinguished Service Award in 1988. He served in the following positions:


  • Member, TC 1.11, Electric Motors and Motor Control
  • Member, TC 5.11, Humidifying Equipment
  • Member, TC 9.9, Mission Critical Facilities, Data Centers, Technology Spaces and Electronic Equipment

William E. Estes, P.E.

85; Life Member ASHRAE; Hixson, Texas; joined ASHRAE in 1969. He served as Historian for the Tennessee Valley Chapter.


Clyde W. Heaney

72; Life Member ASHRAE; Littleton, Colo., joined ASHRAE in 1986.


Werner H. Hochstrasser

96; Life Member ASHRAE; Geroldswil, Switzerland; joined ASHRAE in 1967.


Ray A. Howell, P.E.

87; Life Member ASHRAE; Oklahoma City, Okla.; joined ASHRAE in 1966.


Michael Hulls

82; Life Member ASHRAE; Ascot, U.K.; joined ASHRAE in 1981.


Gurmohan S. Kochhar, Ph.D., P.Eng.

73; Life Member ASHRAE; St. Augustine, Trinidad and Tobago; joined ASHRAE in 1978.


Hal Levin

81; Life Member ASHRAE; Berkeley, Calif.; joined ASHRAE in 1986.


He served in the following positions:

  • Consultant, Environmental Health Committee
  • Co-Chair, IAQ 2013 Steering Committee
  • Member, IAQ 2010 Steering Committee
  • Member, IAQ 2007 AD HOC Steering Committee
  • Member, IAQ 2004 AD HOC Steering Committee
  • Member, IAQ 2001 Steering Committee
  • Member, IAQ 2000 Steering Committee
  • Member, IAQ Position Paper Committee
  • Member, IAQ 1997 Steering Committee
  • Member, IAQ 1995 Steering Committee
  • Member, IAQ 1993 Steering Committee
  • Member, IAQ 1992 Steering Committee
  • Member, IAQ 1991 Steering Committee
  • Chairman, TG-BIE, Task Group on Buildings’ Impacts on the Environment
  • Member, IAQ/Healthy Buildings ‘97 Organizing Committee
  • Subcommittee Chairman, SSPC 62, Ventilation for Acceptable Indoor Air Quality
  • Chairman, Guideline Project Committee 10P, Criteria for Achieving Acceptable Indoor Environments
  • Member, TC 2.1, Human Physiology and Environment
  • Member, TC 7.9, Building Commissioning
  • Member, TC 9.9, Mission Critical Facilities, Data Centers, Technology Spaces and Electronic Equipment
  • Producer, SGPC 10, Interactions Affecting the Achievement of Acceptable Indoor Environments
  • Member, SSPC 55, Thermal Environmental Conditions for Human Occupancy
  • Member, SSPC 62.1, Ventilation and Acceptable Indoor Air Quality
  • Chair, Producer, GPC 10P, Criteria for Achieving Acceptable Indoor Environments
  • Member, Carbon Equivalents Calculation Project Monitoring Subcommittee
  • Member, Building Performance Metrics Steering Committee


He earned the following awards:

  • Distinguished Service Award, 2013
  • Environment Health Award, 2008
  • Fellow Award, 2002


Claude J. McAtee

82; Life Member ASHRAE; Bartlett, Tenn.; joined ASHRAE in 1970.


Jonathan Nelson

41; Member ASHRAE; Buzzards Bay, Maine; joined ASHRAE in 2019.


Peter Novak, Ph.D.

85; Fellow/Life Member ASHRAE; Ljubljana, Slovenia; joined ASHRAE in 1971. He served as President-Elect, Treasurer, Membership Promotion Co-Chair, Research Promotion Co-Chair, and on the Board of Governors for the Danube Chapter. He also served as Handbook Subcommittee Chair of TC 7.4, Exergy Analysis for Sustainable Buildings; and was a member of TC 6.10, Fuels and Combustion. He earned the Fellow Award in 1998.


Thomas E. Pape, II

63; Waterloo, Ill. He was a member of SSPC 189.1, Standard for the Design of High-Performance, Green Buildings Except Low-Rise Residential Buildings; and a member of SPC 191, Standard for the Efficient Use of Water in Building Mechanical Systems.

Robert L. Sparks

Member ASHRAE; Pagosa Springs, Colo.; joined ASHRAE in 2007.


Michael G. Talbot, P.E., HBDP

63; Fellow ASHRAE; Charlotte, N.C.; joined ASHRAE in 1983. He served as President and Secretary of the Southern Piedmont Chapter. He earned the Fellow Award in 2019.