Artificial intelligence (AI) policy: ASHRAE prohibits the entry of content from any ASHRAE publication or related ASHRAE intellectual property (IP) into any AI tool, including but not limited to ChatGPT. Additionally, creating derivative works of ASHRAE IP using AI is also prohibited without express written permission from ASHRAE.

logoShaping Tomorrow's Built Environment Today

Obituaries, November 2023

Obituaries, November 2023

From Insights, November 2023


Ivan W. Chute

92; Life Member ASHRAE; Phoenix, Ariz.; joined ASHRAE in 1968.


R. Edward Davis, P.E.

66; Life Member ASHRAE; San Jose, Calif.; joined ASHRAE in 1983. He served in the following positions for the ASHRAE Triangle Chapter:

  • Webmaster
  • Administrator
  • Electronic Communications Chair
  • Homepage Editor
  • Newsletter Editor
  • Membership Promotion Chair

Thomas Determan, P.E.

89; Life Member ASHRAE; Warr Acres, Okla.; joined ASHRAE in 1964. He served on the Board of Governors and Tech Energy & Govt. Activities for the ASHRAE Central Oklahoma Chapter.


Thomas M. Driggers, P.E.

86; Life Member ASHRAE; Albany, Ga.; joined ASHRAE in 1972.


Ronald G. German, P.E.

78; Life Member ASHRAE; Denison, Texas; joined ASHRAE in 1977.


Bill Hafferty

64; Member ASHRAE; Hyannis, Maine; joined ASHRAE in 2021.


Andrew Johnson, P.E.

45; Member ASHRAE; Brookfield, Wis.; joined ASHRAE in 2005.


Juan Lagomasino, P.E.

87; Life Member ASHRAE; Miami, Fla.; joined ASHRAE in 1971.


Stephen Z. Lavoot, P.E.

83; Life Member ASHRAE; Anaheim, Calif.; joined ASHRAE in 1972.


Kenneth J. Loudermilk, P.E.

69; Life Member ASHRAE; Duluth, Ga.; joined ASHRAE in 1984.

He served as:

  • Chair and as member of TC5.3, Room Air Distribution
  • Member of the Handbook Revision Subcommittee
  • Vice chair of SPC-200, Method of Testing Chilled Beams
  • A member of TC5.2, Duct Design
  • PMS chair for the development of the Underfloor Air Distribution Design Guide
  • Member of TRG-7, task group responsible for writing the ASHRAE/REHVA Chilled Beam Design Guide

James Melvin           

86; Life Member ASHRAE; Calgary, AB, Canada; joined ASHRAE in 1965.


Mason C. Myers, P.E.

92; Life Member ASHRAE; Minnetonka, Minn.; joined ASHRAE in 1989.


Clyde Porter, Jr.

81; Life Member ASHRAE; Gadsden, Ala.; joined ASHRAE in 1979.


Gay Rehnback, P.E.                      

74; Life Member ASHRAE; Virginia Beach, Va.; joined ASHRAE in 1982.


Wayne Schweitzer, P.E.

74; Life Member ASHRAE; Sugar Hill, Ga.; joined ASHRAE in 1974. He served as the President of the ASHRAE Atlanta Chapter as well as Education Committee Chair of the Environmental Health Committee. He received the following awards:

  • Presidential Award of Excellence, 1990-1991
  • Mechanical Engineering Award of Excellence, 1986
  • Mechanical Engineering Award of Excellence, 1984