logoShaping Tomorrow's Built Environment Today

International Building Decarbonization 2022 Conference

Share This


International Building Decarbonization 2022 Conference

October 5 - 7, 2022 | Athens, Greece

Preliminary Technical Program Available



ASHRAE is organizing its first International Building Decarbonization Conference. The conference is being organized by ASHRAE’s Task Force for Building Decarbonization and the Hellenic Chapter.

The conference intends to be an information and idea exchange, between stakeholders in the built environment industry, concerning the timely and important topic of reducing carbon emissions from buildings. A primary goal of the conference is to bridge North America and Europe collaboration in decarbonization efforts.

Conference Topics

The Conference will present the state-of-the-art in building design, construction, commissioning, operation and maintenance as well as emerging new technologies and materials. The conference topics include:

  • Climate Change and the Built Environment
  • Energy Efficiency in Buildings
  • Pathways to Zero Carbon Buildings
  • Building Renovation. Effects on Decarbonization
  • Reducing the Carbon Balance of the Building in its Operations
  • IEQ and its Impact on Decarbonization
  • Reducing Energy Demand While Maintaining IEQ and Functionality
  • Reducing Carbon Emissions During the Construction of a Building
  • Reducing the Embodied and End-of-Life Carbon of the Structural, Envelope and System Materials Incorporated into the Buildings
  • Refrigerants and their Effect on Building Decarbonization
  • Effect of Building Electrification on Decarbonization
  • Decarbonization and the Health Care Sector
  • CO2 Sequestration – Case studies
  • Decarbonization initiatives in cities and countries

Special Sessions

  • Balancing Decarbonization, IEQ & Energy Efficiency Requirements
  • Moving too Fast or too Slow Towards Decarbonization?
  • The Future of Refrigerants
  • Buildings & Infrastructure
  • Decarbonization State around the World
  • Planning for Tomorrow
  • Data Centers and the Race to Zero: Holistic Strategies to Reach Net-Zero by 2030

 Paper Sessions

Keynote Speakers:

  • Ginger Scoggins |  PE, LEED AP, CEM, CxA, FASHRAE, ASHRAE President-Elect 2022-2023
  • Kent Peterson |  PE, FASHRAE, ASHRAE President 2007-2008
  • Thomas Phoenix |  Task-Force Co Chair, P.E., LEED AP, FASHRAE, ASHRAE President 2014-2015
  • Donald Colliver |  Task-Force Co Chair, Ph.D. P.E., Professor, University of Kentucky, FASHRAE, ASHRAE President 2002-2003

  Preliminary Technical Program Available

  • Sponsorship

    The conference organizers are pleased to offer several sponsorship opportunities to engage industry participation. A summary of the specific benefits of each sponsorship level is included below:

    Sponsorship Overview

  • Important Dates

    April 18, 2022 Paper and presentation abstracts due
    April 25, 2022 Notification of abstract submission decision
    June 6, 2022 Paper submission due
    July 4, 2022 Notification of decision / comments for full papers
    July 25, 2022 Final papers due
    August 8, 2022 Final notification of decision
    August 29, 2022 Presentations due for commercialism review
    August 29, 2022 Registration deadline for authors
    September 12, 2022 Final Program

  • Steering Committee

    • Dimitris Charalambopoulos, Chair
    • Thomas Phoenix, Vice Chair
    • Donald Colliver
    • Vassia Katsirea
    • Takis Stapas
    • Alkis Triantafyllopoulos
    • Katia Bougatsou
    • Alexandros Karathanasis
    • Nikos Giannitsanos
    • Elias Kalambokis
    • Don Brandt
    • Erich Binder
    • David Underwood
  • Scientific Committee

    • Costas Balaras, Chair
    • Donald Colliver, Vice Chair
    • Thomas Phoenix
    • Dru Crawley
    • Eleftherios Bourdakis
    • Ioanna Deligkiozi
    • George Pantelidis
    • Elena Daskalaki
    • Lambros Doulos
    • Chrysanthi Panagiotopoulou
    • Richie Mittal
    • Doug Cochrane
    • Don Brandt
    • Davide Ziviani
    • Gordon Sutherland
    • Dimitrios Athanasiou
    • Dimitris Charalambopoulos